top of page

Early Years Foundation Stage - EYFS

The early years foundation stage (EYFS) sets standards for the learning, development and care of children from birth to 5 years old.

The overarching aim of early years teaching is to help young children achieve the five Every Child Matters outcomes.

  • Be Healthy

  • Stay Safe

  • Enjoy and Achieve

  • Make a Positive Contribution

  • Achieve Economic Well-being

The Early Years  is grouped into four themes to compliment the Every Child Matters outcomes and these are:

  • A Unique Child

  • Positive Relationships

  • Enabling environments

  • Learning and Development

The Characteristics of Effective Learning are:

  • Playing and Exploring

  • Active Learning

  • Creative and Thinking Critically

Please click on the link below to view the current Early Years Foundation Stage Framework

The Seven Areas of EYFS Learning & Curriculum

Find out more about the seven areas of EYFS Learning and Curriculum and how Tuckswood Academy and Nursery use these within our teaching.

bottom of page