top of page

The Seven Areas of the EYFS Learning

The prime areas are fundamental to a broad and balanced base of learning for children. The EYFS states that they are 'crucial for igniting children's curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, for building their capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive'.

1. Personal, Social and Emotional Development
2. Communication and Language Prime Areas
3. Physical Development

The prime areas continue to be fundamental throughout the EYFS.

The specific areas include essential skills and knowledge. They grow out of the prime areas, and provide important contexts for learning. Children develop in the context of relationships and the environment around them.

4. Mathematics
5. Literacy
6. Understanding the World Specific Areas
7. Expressive Arts and Design

bottom of page